RFA Available: Quality Improvement Center on Domestic Violence in Child Welfare

August 16, 2017


In 2016, the Children’s Bureau/U.S. Department of Health and Human Services launched the national Quality Improvement Center on Domestic Violence in Child Welfare (QIC-DVCW) to test interventions to improve how child welfare agencies and their partners work with families experiencing domestic violence.

Become a Research and Capacity Building Project

The QIC-DVCW announces an opportunity to apply as a Research and Capacity Building Project (RCBP) to strengthen the evidence foundation for collaborative responses to families experiencing domestic violence who are involved in the child welfare system. The QIC-DVCW will work with up to four projects across the country to develop, implement and evaluate practices, policy and programming to promote safety and well-being of adult and child survivors, accountability and meaningful support for change for people using violence and coercion with a partner, and permanency for children. RCBPs will receive substantial programmatic and evaluation related training and technical assistance, financial support for project staff and activities, and an opportunity to participate in a Learning Community with the QIC-DVCW, researchers, practitioners and organizations interested in this work.

The QIC-DVCW is investigating the following questions:

1. Does a collaborative, adult and child survivor-centered approach — that includes safely engaging and establishing accountability of the DV offender — improve adult and child survivor safety, child permanence, and child and family well-being for child welfare involved families experiencing DV?

2. For which families, and in which social contexts, does an adult and child survivor-centered approach improve these outcomes?

3. What factors are associated with successful implementation and sustainability of an adult and child survivor-centered approach?

4. What are the costs associated with the implementation and maintenance of an adult and child survivor-centered approach, and how do these compare to the costs of “practice as usual”?

Who Can Apply?

State, county and tribal child welfare agencies are eligible to apply. The QIC-DVCW has a strong emphasis on collaboration, and therefore applicants are strongly encouraged to partner with a domestic violence agency or coalition as a co-applicant for the project. See the Request for Applications for more information.

Application Process

Interested parties are invited to participate in Q&A on Applying as a Research and Capacity Building Project, an optional informational webinar of the QIC-DVCW. The webinar will be held on September 1st, 2017 from 2-3:30 p.m. EDT; 1-2:30 p.m. CDT; noon – 1:30 p.m. MDT; 11 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. PDT; 10 – 11:30 a.m. AKDT; 8 – 9:30 a.m. HST. Register Here

Interested parties are encouraged to submit an optional, brief Letter of Intent to Apply on agency letterhead, including a point of contact. Please submit letters by 11:59 p.m. EDT September 8, 2017 to Wendy Gutierrez at WGutierrez@futureswithoutviolence.org. Please include “QIC-DVCW Letter of Intent to Apply” in the subject line of the email.

All applications must be received by September 29, 2017 by 11:59 p.m. EDT. Email applications to Wendy Gutierrez at WGutierrez@futureswithoutviolence.org and include “QIC-DVCW Application” in the subject line.

Application Documents

Request for Applications

Application Requirements

Sample Letter of Commitment

Frequently Asked Questions

Futures Without Violence is leading this endeavor along with an experienced group of partners including the Center for the Study of Social Policy, the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges, the University of Kansas School of Social Welfare, and the Center for Health & Safety Culture at Montana State University.