Skip to main content

The NCJFCJ Announces Six Sites Selected to Participate in the Firearms Technical Assistance Project

News / NCJFCJ News / The NCJFCJ Announces Six Sites Selected to Participate in the Firearms Technical Assistance Project

The National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges (NCJFCJ) and its project partners are pleased to announce that six sites have been selected to participate in the Firearms Technical Assistance Project (FTAP), a project designed to help communities implement policies, protocols, and promising practices to prevent abusers from having access to firearms in domestic violence cases.

Through the FTAP, the NCJFCJ and its partners will work with a team of local stakeholders at each site and provide intensive technical assistance (TA), training, and mentoring to each community over the next two to three years. Training and TA will be tailored to the unique needs of each site, based on an initial assessment of the sites and input from national TA providers and experts on the intersection of domestic violence and firearms. An important focus of this work will involve identifying and working with traditionally underserved and/or marginalized communities to ensure that the strategies for improving the implementation of firearms prohibitions in domestic violence cases reflect the needs and circumstances experienced by such communities.

The NCJFCJ’s partners in this project are: AEquitas – The Prosecutors’ Resource on Violence Against Women; Asian Pacific Institute on Gender-Based Violence; the Center for Court Innovation; Howard University School of Social Work; the International Association of Chiefs of Police; the National Center on Protection Orders and Full Faith & Credit; the National Center for State Courts; the National Domestic Violence and Firearms Resource Center; the National Indigenous Women’s Resource Center; the National Latin@ Network for Healthy Families and Communities (Casa de Esperanza); and Ujima, Inc: The National Resource Center on Violence Against Women in the Black Community.

The six sites are:

  • Birmingham, Alabama
  • Brooklyn, New York
  • Columbus, Ohio
  • Muscogee Creek Nation in Oklahoma
  • Spokane, Washington
  • State of Vermont

The FTAP is supported by Grant No. 2016-TA-AX-K043 awarded by the U.S. Department of Justice, Office on Violence Against Women, through a cooperative agreement with the NCJFCJ.