Skip to main content
Skip to main content

Break from the Bench: Enhancing Equity and Justice in Domestic Violence Cases

Upcoming Events / Webinar / Break from the Bench: Enhancing Equity and Justice in Domestic Violence Cases

Enhancing Equity and Justice in Domestic Violence Cases

Presented by NCJFCJ Staff

Tuesday, December 13th, 2022

10 a.m. PDT/ 11 a.m. MDT/ 12 p.m. CDT/ 1 p.m. EDT

Register Here

The National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges (NCJFCJ) invites you to the NCJFCJ’s Break from the Bench: A Lunch and Learn Series. Please join us for a 45-minute panel discussion on a wide range of topics focused on what a judge needs to know about domestic violence. Our expert faculty will provide information for judges and courts on strategies for improving responses to intimate partner violence.

Break from the Bench is a monthly, recorded lunch and learn series that focuses on what judges and judicial officers need to know about domestic violence, provides digestible amounts of information within 45-minutes, and is uploaded to the JEDI-DV website. Featured topics include what a judge needs to know about … DV AWARE (courtroom/courthouse security), firearms, cyberviolence, considerations for self-represented litigants experiencing domestic violence, responding to immigrant victims of domestic and sexual assault, creating equal justice for people with cognitive and intellectual disabilities in domestic and sexual violence cases, considerations when ordering supervised visitation in domestic violence cases, and recognizing context and coercive controlling abuse in intimate partner violence.