Skip to main content
Skip to main content

"We Hardly Ever See any LGBTQ2S+ Youth:" Collecting Data on Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity (SOGI)

Upcoming Events / Webinar / "We Hardly Ever See any LGBTQ2S+ Youth:" Collecting Data on Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity (SOGI)

Webinar
“We Hardly Ever see any LGBTQ2S+ Youth:”
Collecting Data on Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity (SOGI)

September 27, 2023
9:00 a.m. (PDT) / 10:00 a.m. (MDT) / 11:00 a.m. (CDT) / 12:00 p.m. (EDT)
Duration: 90 minutes

Youth who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and two-spirit (LGBTQ2S+) are disproportionately represented in the juvenile justice system and have unique needs and challenges, yet many juvenile justice professionals are unsure of whether there are any LGBTQ2S+ youth in their system. Ensuring that all youth in the juvenile justice system feel safe, affirmed, and supported requires juvenile justice professionals to ask youth about all aspects of their identity. This webinar will share the core tenets of collecting SOGI data.

By the end of this webinar attendees will be able to:
Describe why a nondiscrimination policy should be explicitly inclusive of sexual orientation and gender identity
Explain how data on SOGI can be collected in an affirming and safe manner
Assess the current practices of data collection within their system

Faculty:
Currey Cook, Senior Counsel and Director of Youth in the Out-of-Home Care Project, Lambda Legal
Nicholas Oakley, Director of Public Policy, Strategy and Alignment, Center for Children Youth and Justice

Register Now